Association Burkinabè de Fundraising

"The most important thing, I think, is to have led people to have confidence in themselves, to understand that at last they can sit down and write about their development, write about their happiness and say what they want. And at the same time, to feel what the price is for happiness".
Thomas SANKARA

fonds
Emergency fund for environmental defenders in Africa

African Climate Justice Activists (AACJ) invite you to be part of the solution! If you're passionate about making a difference and have a climate justice project in mind, they want to support you. Apply for their grants to create African solutions to African problems!

  • In the context of the challenges facing African environmental defenders and the shrinking civic spaces in most African countries, Natural Justice and its partners have expressed their commitment to protecting environmental and land defenders.To achieve this goal, the NGOs have created the "African Environmental Defenders Emergency Fund" to support environmental and land defenders who find themselves in emergency situations due to the nature of their work.

    Deadline: ongoing

    Name of donor : African activists for climate justice (AACJ)

    Grant size : not available

    Category: Grant

    Areas of interest

    Environment

    Objective of the Emergency Fund
    • The aim of this fund is to promote respect for and improve the protection of African environmental defenders working on land and environmental issues, by providing urgent emergency support to defenders throughout Africa.
    Types of support the Emergency Fund can provide
    • The nature of the support provided by the Fund will take the form of a grant to oversee an emergency or at-risk situation related to a defender's activism or actions. This grant will cover any immediate and short-term transition costs arising from the emergency situation before the defender identifies a more stable source of support. Some of the costs that may be covered by this fund include:
      • Urgent and short-term legal assistance
        • For environmental and land defenders who are threatened with arrest, arbitrarily arrested, detained, maliciously prosecuted or summoned by government authorities, this fund can be used to cover the costs of legal representation in order to guarantee the defender's freedom during the entire trial. The aim is to prevent any imminent or ongoing violation of human rights throughout the trial. This could include: bail; the cost of legal representation when the defender is summoned by the authorities; temporary injunctions; the orders protective measures in the event of a threat of deportation or actual forced deportation; early release on bail for defenders who fear arrest or re-arrest. In such cases, it must be demonstrated that this is the most effective preventive measure against a clear, direct and imminent threat, among other alternatives.
      • Cost of security/surety in exceptional circumstances
        • Where a defender has obtained bail/guarantee but, for whatever reason, is unable to raise the required amounts, this Fund may cover the cost of bail/guarantee in certain circumstances to release the defender from custody during the trial period. Requests for this type of support will be determined on a case-by-case basis, depending on the facts and evidence presented by the applicant.
      • Emergency medical aid
        • Environmental defenders who, in the course of their work, sustain injuries or become seriously ill as a result of any form of physical violence perpetrated against them, may be supported by the Fund. In such cases, the Fund may provide assistance to the Defender by covering the costs of medical services and treatment. Psychosocial support may also be provided where necessary to enhance recovery from the experience of traumatic or improve their emotional well-being.
      • Temporary moving expenses
        • Relocation becomes necessary when a defender faces a threat of violation of his or her rights or risks being exposed to other types of danger as a result of his or her continued presence in a particular place or territory. The Fund can cover all the costs associated with relocation for as long as the threat persists.
      • The cost of hiring private security for the defender in exceptional circumstances
        • Where a defender fears their life is in danger, they may apply for funding to hire private security for a short period. Requests for this type of support will be determined on a case-by-case basis, depending on the facts and evidence presented by the applicant.
      • Expenses related to the installation of safety infrastructures in the event of exceptional circumstances
        • The Fund may cover a request for the acquisition of security infrastructure such as CCTV cameras, provided that adequate justification is provided as to how this will contribute to overcoming the emergency. This may include a reference from a technology specialist on the effectiveness of such infrastructure. Due to the high costs of security infrastructure, it must be clear from the application that this is the best way to secure a defender, that the application is justified by a third party and that the budget is provided by a service provider.
    Eligibility criteria
    • Anyone can apply for a grant if the applicant :
      • Is a citizen of an African country or a person residing or working legally in an African country;
      • Is an active frontline land and environmental rights advocate working on issues related to land rights, environmental and climate justice, including but not limited to natural resource rights, land or environmental conflicts, land grabbing and land reform;
      • faces imminent threat or harm due to the nature of its work as a defender of land and the environment;
      • Has not obtained any other type of support from any other entity, organisation or anyone to support them in an emergency.
    Ineligible
    • This Fund cannot support other types of non-emergency costs such as :
      • Maintenance and routine administrative and office expenses.
      • Human rights programmes that are not linked to a specific, contingent situation of rights violation.
      • Armed security.
      • Emergencies linked to natural disasters.
      • The cost of applying to become a citizen of another country.
      • Any other costs that the Committee considers not to constitute an emergency.

    For more information, please visit AACJ

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Other publications

SUBSCRIPTION

Newsletter

Don't miss out on any calls for projects! If you haven't registered yet, register now now to take advantage of project opportunities.

This will close in 20 seconds

en_GBEnglish (UK)
Scroll to Top

Association Burkinabè de Fundraising

« Le plus important, je crois, c’est d’avoir amené le peuple à avoir confiance en lui-même comprendre que finalement il peut s’asseoir et écrire son développement, écrire son bonheur et dire ce qu’il désire. Et en même temps, sentir quel est le prix à payer pour le bonheur »
Thomas SANKARA

fonds
Fonds d’urgence pour les défenseurs de l’environnement en Afrique

Les Activistes Africains pour la Justice Climatique (AACJ) vous invitent à faire partie de la solution ! Si vous êtes passionné par le fait de faire une différence et que vous avez un projet de justice climatique en tête, ils veulent vous soutenir. Demandez leurs subventions pour créer des solutions africaines aux problèmes africains !

  • Dans le contexte des défis auxquels sont confrontés les défenseurs africains de l’environnement et de la diminution des espaces civiques dans la plupart des pays africains, Natural Justice et ses partenaires ont exprimé leur engagement à protéger les défenseurs de l’environnement et des terres.Pour atteindre cet objectif, les ONG ont créé le « Fonds d’urgence pour les défenseurs de l’environnement africains » pour soutenir les défenseurs de l’environnement et des terres qui se trouvent dans des situations d’urgence en raison de la nature de leur travail.

    Date limite : en cours

    Nom du donateur : Activistes africains pour la justice climatique (AACJ)

    Taille de la subvention : non disponible

    Catégorie : Subvention

    Domaines d’intérêts

    Environnement

    Objectif du Fonds d’urgence
    • L’objectif de ce fonds est de promouvoir le respect et d’améliorer la protection des défenseurs africains de l’environnement travaillant sur les questions foncières et environnementales, en fournissant un soutien d’urgence urgent aux défenseurs dans toute l’Afrique.
    Types de soutien que le Fonds d’urgence peut fournir
    • La nature du soutien fourni par le Fonds prendra la forme d’une subvention pour superviser une situation d’urgence ou à risque liée à l’activisme ou aux actions d’un défenseur. Cette subvention couvrira tous les coûts de transition immédiats et à court terme découlant de la situation d’urgence avant que le défenseur n’identifie une source de soutien plus stable. Certains des coûts pouvant être pris en charge par ce fonds comprennent :
      • Assistance juridique urgente et à court terme
        • Pour les défenseurs de l’environnement et des terres qui sont menacés d’arrestation, arrêtés arbitrairement, détenus, poursuivis de manière malveillante ou convoqués par les autorités gouvernementales, ce fonds peut être utilisé pour couvrir les frais de représentation juridique afin de garantir la liberté du défenseur pendant le procès complet. L’objectif est d’empêcher toute violation imminente ou continue des droits de l’homme pendant toute la durée du procès. Cela pourrait inclure : une caution ; les frais de représentation par un avocat lorsque le défenseur est convoqué par les autorités ; injonctions temporaires; les ordonnances conservatoires en cas de menace d’expulsion ou d’expulsion forcée réelle ; libération sous caution anticipée pour les défenseurs qui craignent d’être arrêtés ou de nouveau arrêtés. Dans de tels cas, il faut démontrer qu’il s’agit de la mesure préventive la plus efficace contre une menace claire, directe et imminente, parmi d’autres alternatives.
      • Coût de la caution/caution dans des circonstances exceptionnelles
        • Lorsqu’un défenseur a obtenu une caution/caution mais, pour une raison quelconque, est incapable de réunir les montants requis, ce Fonds peut couvrir le coût de la caution/caution dans certaines circonstances pour libérer le défenseur de sa garde à vue pendant la période du procès. Les demandes pour ce type de soutien seront déterminées au cas par cas, en fonction des faits et des preuves présentés par le demandeur.
      • Aide médicale urgente
        • Les défenseurs de l’environnement qui, au cours de leur travail, subissent des blessures ou tombent gravement malades à la suite de toute forme de violence physique propagée à leur encontre, peuvent être soutenus par le Fonds. Dans ce cas, le Fonds peut apporter une assistance au Défenseur en prenant en charge les frais des services médicaux et des traitements. Un soutien psychosocial peut également être fourni lorsqu’il est nécessaire pour améliorer le rétablissement après une expérience traumatisante ou améliorer leur bien-être émotionnel.
      • Frais de déménagement temporaire
        • La réinstallation devient nécessaire lorsqu’un défenseur est confronté à une menace de violation de ses droits ou risque d’être exposé à d’autres types de danger du fait de sa présence continue dans un lieu ou un territoire particulier. Ce Fonds peut prendre en charge tous les frais liés à la relocalisation pendant toute la période pendant laquelle la menace persiste.
      • Le coût de l’embauche d’une sécurité privée pour le défenseur dans des circonstances exceptionnelles
        • Lorsqu’un défenseur craint que sa vie soit en danger, il peut demander des fonds pour engager une sécurité privée pour une courte période. Les demandes pour ce type de soutien seront déterminées au cas par cas, en fonction des faits et des preuves présentés par le demandeur.
      • Dépenses liées à l’installation d’infrastructures de sécurité en cas de circonstances exceptionnelles
        • Le Fonds peut couvrir une demande d’acquisition d’infrastructures de sécurité telles que des caméras de vidéosurveillance, à condition qu’une justification adéquate soit fournie quant à la manière dont cela contribuera à surmonter la situation d’urgence. Cela peut inclure une référence d’un spécialiste en technologie sur l’efficacité d’une telle infrastructure. En raison des coûts élevés des infrastructures de sécurité, il doit ressortir clairement de la candidature qu’il s’agit du meilleur moyen de sécuriser un défenseur, que la demande est justifiée par un tiers et que le budget est fourni par un prestataire de services.
    Critère d’éligibilité
    • Toute personne peut demander une subvention si le demandeur :
      • Est un citoyen d’un pays africain ou une personne résidant ou travaillant légalement dans un pays africain ;
      • Est un défenseur actif des droits fonciers et environnementaux de première ligne travaillant sur des questions liées aux droits fonciers, à la justice environnementale et climatique, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, les droits sur les ressources naturelles, les conflits fonciers ou environnementaux, l’accaparement des terres et la réforme agraire ;
      • Est confronté à une menace ou à un préjudice imminent en raison de la nature de son travail de défenseur des terres et de l’environnement ;
      • N’a obtenu aucun autre type de soutien de la part d’une autre entité, organisation ou personne pour le soutenir dans la situation d’urgence.
    Inéligible
    • Ce Fonds ne peut pas supporter d’autres types de coûts non liés à une urgence tels que :
      • Entretien et dépenses courantes d’administration ou de bureau.
      • Programmes de droits de l’homme qui ne sont pas liés à une situation spécifique et contingente de violation des droits.
      • Sécurité armée.
      • Urgence liée aux catastrophes naturelles.
      • Le coût d’une demande pour devenir citoyen d’un autre pays.
      • Tout autre coût que le Comité estime ne pas constituer une urgence.

    Pour plus d’informations, visitez AACJ

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin

Autres publications

ABONNEMENT

Newsletter

Ne manquez aucun appel à projets ! Si vous n'êtes pas encore inscrit, inscrivez vous dès maintenant pour profiter des opportunités de projets.

Ceci fermera dans 20 secondes

fr_FRFrançais
Retour haut de page