Association Burkinabè de Fundraising

"The most important thing, I think, is to have led people to have confidence in themselves, to understand that at last they can sit down and write about their development, write about their happiness and say what they want. And at the same time, to feel what the price is for happiness".
Thomas SANKARA

les femmes juristes
CFA: Peer Support Programme for Women Lawyers (Sub-Saharan Africa)

Media Defence is calling for applications from women lawyers based in sub-Saharan Africa to participate in a peer support programme for women lawyers with an interest in digital rights, independent peer learning and peer support with other women lawyers.

Deadline30-Sep-2022

Name of donor : Media advocacy

Amount of the grant : Not available

Category: Events

Reference URL :https://www.mediadefence.org/news/call-

Area(s) of interest

The peer support programme will be the first initiative of its kind under their new project Empowering Women in Digital Rights Advocacy. Media Defence aims to provide a platform for newly trained women lawyers to build their expertise and confidence, and to receive support on various issues relevant to women lawyers.

The peer support programme will be designed as a one-to-one programme - an experienced lawyer will be matched with a newly trained lawyer, taking into account their interests and background.

Objectives

Media Defence provides legal support to independent journalists, bloggers and media outlets and aims to help build and promote a strong network of lawyers. In this context, the peer support programme will provide a platform for women lawyers in sub-Saharan Africa to discuss relevant issues independently and build relationships.

  • The objectives of this peer support programme are
    • To provide a platform for independent discussion of legal and personal challenges that are particularly relevant to women journalists and lawyers, such as professional growth and networking, career and experience in relevant litigation;
    • Building a digital rights network of women lawyers;
    • Supporting and developing working relationships between women lawyers interested in digital rights and freedom of expression online
Eligibility criteria
  • Participants will be selected according to the following criteria:
    • The peer support programme is open to women lawyers working and residing in sub-Saharan Africa;
    • Applicants should have a demonstrated interest and/or knowledge of freedom of expression, digital rights, internet freedom and/or related issues;
    • Previous involvement in one of Media Defence's contentious surgeries;
    • Candidates must be fluent in English;
    • Women lawyers can either work in private practice or work for NGOs promoting the right to freedom of expression in East Africa through litigation. Exceptionally strong applications from lawyers who have not yet undertaken freedom of expression work, but who have experience in other human rights cases and a strong interest in undertaking freedom of expression work will also be considered;
    • Possible future collaboration with Media Defence; and
    • Commitment to ongoing engagement with the network of digital rights lawyers in the region.

A maximum of 24 participants will be selected. Media Defence is committed to equality and diversity and will therefore take into account gender, age and country of origin when selecting participants. Due to the gender disparity in previous events and programmes, this event is exclusively for female lawyers.

For more information, please visit the Peer Support Programme website.

 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Other publications

SUBSCRIPTION

Newsletter

Don't miss out on any calls for projects! If you haven't registered yet, register now now to take advantage of project opportunities.

This will close in 20 seconds

en_GBEnglish (UK)
Scroll to Top

Association burkinabè de Fundraising

" Le plus important, je crois, c’est d’avoir amené le peuple à avoir confiance en lui-même comprendre que finalement il peut s’asseoir et écrire son développement, écrire son bonheur et dire ce qu’il désire. Et en même temps, sentir quel est le prix à payer pour le bonheur "

Thomas Sankara

CFA : Programme d’appui par les pairs pour les femmes juristes (Afrique subsaharienne)

Media Defence lance un appel à candidatures de femmes juristes basées en Afrique subsaharienne pour participer à un programme de soutien par les pairs, qui s’adresse aux avocates ayant manifesté un intérêt pour les droits numériques, ainsi qu’à l’apprentissage indépendant par les pairs et au soutien par les pairs avec d’autres avocates.

Date limite30-Sep-2022

Nom du donateur : Défense des médias

Montant de la subvention : Non disponible

Catégorie : Événements

URL de référence :https://www.mediadefence.org/news/call-

Domaine(s) d’intérêt

Le programme de soutien par les pairs sera la première initiative de ce type dans le cadre de leur nouveau projet Empowering Women in Digital Rights Advocacy. Media Defence vise à fournir une plate-forme aux avocates nouvellement formées pour renforcer leur expertise et leur confiance, et pour recevoir un soutien sur diverses questions pertinentes pour les avocates.

Le programme de soutien par les pairs sera conçu comme un programme individuel – un avocat expérimenté sera jumelé à un avocat nouvellement formé en tenant compte de ses intérêts et de ses antécédents.

Objectifs

Media Defence fournit un soutien juridique aux journalistes, blogueurs et médias indépendants et vise à contribuer à la construction et à la promotion d’un solide réseau d’avocats. Dans ce contexte, le programme d’appui par les pairs offrira une plate-forme aux avocates d’Afrique subsaharienne pour discuter de sujets pertinents de manière indépendante et établir des liens.

  • Les objectifs de ce programme de soutien par les pairs sont les suivants:
    • Offrir une plate-forme pour discuter de manière indépendante des défis juridiques et personnels qui sont particulièrement pertinents pour les femmes journalistes et avocates, tels que la croissance professionnelle et le réseau, la carrière et l’expérience dans les litiges pertinents;
    • Construire un réseau de droits numériques de femmes avocates;
    • Soutenir et développer les relations de travail entre les avocates qui s’intéressent aux droits numériques et à la liberté d’expression en ligne
Critères d’admissibilité
  • Les participants seront sélectionnés selon les critères suivants :
    • Le programme d’appui par les pairs est ouvert aux avocates qui travaillent et résident en Afrique subsaharienne;
    • Les candidats doivent avoir un intérêt démontré et / ou une connaissance de la liberté d’expression, des droits numériques, de la liberté d’Internet et / ou des questions connexes;
    • Participation antérieure à l’une des chirurgies contentieuses de Media Defence;
    • Les candidats doivent maîtriser l’anglais;
    • Les avocates peuvent soit travailler en pratique privée, soit travailler pour des ONG promouvant le droit à la liberté d’expression en Afrique de l’Est par le biais de litiges. Les demandes exceptionnellement solides d’avocats qui n’ont pas encore entrepris de travail sur la liberté d’expression, mais qui ont de l’expérience dans d’autres affaires de droits de la personne et qui ont un fort intérêt à entreprendre un travail sur la liberté d’expression seront également prises en considération;
    • Possibilité de collaboration future avec Media Defence; et
    • Engagement envers l’engagement continu avec le réseau d’avocats spécialisés dans les droits numériques dans la région.

Un maximum de 24 participants sera sélectionné. Media Defence s’engage en faveur de l’égalité et de la diversité et tiendra donc compte du sexe, de l’âge et du pays d’origine dans la sélection des participants. En raison de la disparité entre les sexes dans les événements et programmes précédents, cet événement est exclusivement destiné aux avocates.

Pour plus d’informations, visitez le site Programme de soutien par les pairs.

 

Retour haut de page